PDC World Grand Prix: Updates

This years partypoker.com World Grand Prix may just be the strongest collection of dart players ever to contest a tournament. We’ll be covering the £400,000, double-in tournament in Dublin, for the seven day spectacular from Sunday 4th October until its culmination on the following Saturday.

Read our World Grand Prix Preview here.

Round One

Best of 3 sets

Sunday October 4th

In a sign of things to come, the first match of the tournament went right down to the wire, with a deciding leg in the final set. Jamie Lewis held his nerve and progressed into Round Two.
The first shock of the event came in just the second match. Webster took out Bunting with a 3-0 set win in the final set. In set one Bunting hit seven perfect darts, but lost the leg and never really recovered from that.
Huybrechts squeezed past van de Pas in the third match, after losing the first set.
In match four, Michael Smith didn’t seem to be able to concentrate and went a leg down. He found some rhythm in set two to level the match. Price was 2-0 up in the deciding set, but then missed 15 darts to start the deciding leg, and it was Smith who proceeds to a Second Round match with Jamie Lewis.
From one set up and 2-0 in the second set, Snakebite contrived to lose this match, including missing four match darts and it’s Chisnall who moves on.
van Gerwen versus Dolan Brown was a great match to watch. Mighty Mike raced away in the first set, winning 3-0 and hitting three doubles out of every four. Brown hit back with three legs in-a-row of his own to take the second set. In the deciding set MVG hit a 14 darter, followed by a 152 shot out for Brown, before van Gerwen whitewashed Keegan in the third leg. van Gerwen won a great match 2-1.
Adrian Lewis won the second all Premier-League clash of the night, beating an out of sorts van Barneveld two straight.
The last match of (a long) night saw the in form Jelle Klaasen see off Brendan Dolan 2-1.

William O’Connor 1-2 Jamie Lewis
Mark Webster 2-1 Stephen Bunting
Kim Huybrechts 2-1 Benito van de Pas
Michael Smith 2-1 Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright 1-2 Dave Chisnall
Michael van Gerwen 2-1 Keegan Brown
Adrian Lewis 2-0 Raymond van Barneveld
Jelle Klaasen 2-1 Brendan Dolan

Monday October 5th

Andrew Gilding 2-0 Simon Whitlock
Justin Pipe 2-1 Steve Beaton
Mervyn King 1-2 Terry Jenkins
James Wade 1-2 Mensur Suljovic
Ian White 2-0 Jamie Caven
Phil Taylor 2-0 Vincent van der Voort
Gary Anderson 2-0 John Henderson
Robert Thornton 2-0 Daryl Gurney

Round Two

Tuesday October 6th

Michael Smith 2-3 Jamie Lewis
Dave Chisnall 2-3 Jelle Klaasen
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Kim Huybrechts
Adrian Lewis 0-3 Mark Webster

Wednesday October 7th

Robert Thornton 3-0 Justin Pipe
Mensur Suljovic 3-0 Simon Whitlock
Vincent van der Voort 3-0 Terry Jenkins
Gary Anderson 1-3 Ian White


Thursday October 8th

Jamie Lewis 0-3 Michael van Gerwen
Jelle Klaasen 2-3 Mark Webster
Robert Thornton 3-2 Ian White
Mensur Suljovic 3-1 Vincent van der Voort


Friday October 9th

Robert Thornton 4-2 Mensur Suljovic
Mark Webster 1-4 Michael van Gerwen


Saturday October 10th

Michael van Gerwen 4-5 Robert Thornton

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.